Research Guides: Accounting and Finance: Home

Welcome to the Accounting and Finance Research Guide

Utilize this guide to search databases listed below for articles and other information for your topic and course assignments. If you have questions please use the chat box.

Suggested Databases

Use the arrows below to scroll the databases.

Hoover's Online (On Campus Access Only)

Hoover's Online provides extensive profiles for thousands of major public and private companies worldwide. Profiles include: Company background, Historical sketch, Comparison with competitors, and Financial data and reports.

Mergent Online

Mergent Online provides web-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database.

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from key publications and provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports.

https://about.proquest.com/en/products-services/pq_accounting

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest)

The collection helps researchers locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.

General Databases

GALILEO
Over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 10,000 journal titles are provided in full-text.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR
Full text articles from the back issues of selected core journals.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

Other Website Resources

Bloomberg
Contains business and financial market news. It also contains economic news, stock futures, stock quotes and personal finance advice.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Establishes financial accounting and reporting standards for public and private companies and not-for-profit organizations that follow Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP).
IRS Tax Statistics
The Internal Revenue Service is the nation's tax collection agency and administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress.
Financial Times Podcasts
With FT Podcasts, award winning journalism is now even more accessible.
Listen in to daily rundowns on the most important global business stories with the FT News Briefing or why not try The Money Clinic with Claer Barrett, where each week money-making expert Claer Barett responds to real-life money questions from a range of guests.
With so much to discover and podcasts covering topics from the latest business trends, market swings and political developments, you and your team can stay up-to-date on what matters any time, anywhere.

Find Books in the Catalog

Online Catalog (GIL-Find)
Check the online catalog for books and more at Middle Georgia State.
Reserves
Check in GIL-Find for items (print or electronic) that your professor has put on reserve.
Ask for books and other print materials at the desk in the Library.
Log in to online reserves with the password your professor provides you.

Accounting and Finance