Secondary Sources - HIST 3480 - Melton - Research Guides at Middle Georgia State University

Secondary Source History Databases

JSTOR

JSTOR is an archive of important scholarly journals offering researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Project Muse

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

History Reference Center

The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.

General Databases

Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.
Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines.

Find Books

Online Catalog (GIL-Find)
Check the online catalog for books and more at Middle Georgia State.
Reserves
Check in GIL-Find for items (print or electronic) that your professor has put on reserve.
Ask for books and other print materials at the desk in the Library.
Log in to online reserves with the password your professor provides you.

Search GALILEO