Research Guides: Film: Books

Dr. Brennan's HUMN 1002 (US History background)

Outline of US History
“Outline of U.S. History” is a publication of the U.S. Department of State. This ebook edition is available via GALILEO by clicking the link above.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.

Find Library Books

In the Library:

Browse the "PN1900" section in your campus library.
Also see below for a list of related books from our collection.

Online Catalog (GIL-Find)
Check the online catalog for books and more at Middle Georgia State.
GIL-Find for GIL Express (Universal Catalog)
Select "University System of Georgia" as a search option to locate books at other USG college libraries. After you find a book, order it by clicking "Request." (Make sure you are logged in to GIL-Find!)
Reserves
Check in GIL-Find for items (print or electronic) that your professor has put on reserve.
Ask for books and other print materials at the desk in the Library.
Log in to online reserves with the password your professor provides you.

Film-related Reference books-online

This is just a TINY sampling of ebooks that you have access to as a MGA student. Feel free to search on your own and never be afraid to ask a Librarian for some help!

Use an Advanced Search in GIL-Find to find film-related books. Start with search terms like "Film," "Motion Picture," and "History & Criticism": You may also want to add the film genre, e.g. "Film Noir," or the director, "Quentin Tarantino," or an actor from the film, eg. "Marlon Brando."

Feel free to modify this search or do your own.

The Ridley Scott encyclopedia (ebook via Galileo)
The entries in this encyclopedia focus on all aspects of his work and are divided into four categories. The first focuses on Ridley Scott's work as a director, encompassing his feature films from The Duellists to Body of Lies, as well as his work in television, including commercials. The second category focuses on the people who have been involved in Scott's projects, including actors, directors, producers, designers, writers and other creative personnel. The third focuses on general thematic issues raised in Scott's work, such as gender construction, political issues, and geographical locations. Finally the encyclopedia incorporates entries on films by other directors who have influenced Scott's approach to his work as a director or producer. Each entry is followed by a bibliography of published sources, both in print and online, making this the most comprehensive reference on Scott's body of work.
more...less...
If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
Television and Film : An Annotated Bibliography of Research Materials(ebook via Galileo)
Despite the spotty record on the part of educators in utilizing popular culture
resources, there exist a significant number of titles--including traditional reference categories such as biographical sources, encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.--possessing inherent research value. Even those tools geared primarily to casual reading by a lay audience which were once available primarily through mail order firms and retail stores, are now found in libraries to an increasingly greater degree. The resources comprising TELEVISION AND FILM: AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY OF RESEARCH MATERIALS have been culled from essentially the same sources a searcher might employ in accessing a wide range of present-day topics, most notably catalogs and union lists of library holdings (many of which are now available online).
more...less...
If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
Noir, Now and Then : Film Noir Originals and Remakes, (1944-1999) (ebook via Galileo)
This examination of the cinematic style of film noir originals and their neo-noir remakes compares thirty-five films, beginning with Billy Wilder's classic Double Indemnity and concluding with Jim McBride's BreathlesS≪/i>. In-depth analysis of the films explain the qualities and characteristics of film noir, while providing critical readings of both the originals and the remakes. The most significant films since 1944 are reviewed and reveal the ever-changing values in American society. As this study reveals, the noir style significantly impacted American film and neo-noir remakes attest to its continued popularity in cinematic art.
more...less...
If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
Class, language, and American film comedy (ebook via Galileo)
This book examines the evolution of American film comedy through the lens of language and the portrayal of social class. Christopher Beach argues that class has been an important element in the development of sound comedy as a cinematic form. With the advent of sound in the late 1920s and early 1930s, filmmakers recognized that sound and narrative enlarged the semiotic and ideological potential of film. Analyzing the use of language in the films of the Marx Brothers, Frank Capra, Woody Allen and the Coen brothers, among others, Class, Language, and American Film Comedy traces the history of Hollywood from the 1930s to the present, while offering a new approach to the study of class and social relationships through linguistic analysis.
more...less...
If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.

Logging in to GIL-Find / My Library Account

Logging in to MGA's GIL-Find Catalog allows you to do a number of things:

Create GIL Express requests to have books sent to you from other USG college libraries.
Click on "Access My Library Account" to do the following:
- Check the status of requests.
- Renew books.
- Check on possible fines.
- Get the GALILEO password.

How do you log in?

Current MGA students, faculty, and staff will use their MGA email login info.
You will use your ENTIRE EMAIL ADDRESS as your username: (firstname.lastname@mga.edu)
Use your EMAIL PASSWORD.

General Reference Books - Online

REMEMBER:

If you access any of these online resources off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.

Credo Reference
A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.

Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
An international and inter-disciplinary roster of experts shed light by exploring such topics as hip hop culture; punk culture; social justice movements; video games and others.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
Culture Wars in America : an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your MGA credentials. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
Encyclopedia of America Studies
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your MGA credentials. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.