chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Research Process: Step-by-Step

This guide walks you through the steps of the research process

Choosing a Database

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

  • check to see if there is a Research Guide that covers your subject area or topic.
  • consult the database descriptions on GALILEO's "All Databases" listing then either type in your subject/topic or limit your search using the "Subjects" option- see example below:

GALILEO Limit Databases Facet

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Tip*:  Select the "More Info" button under the database name and brief description for a more detailed description of the database if needed.

GALILEO databases More Info button

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
  • Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
  • Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the publication with graphics and pictures), or both.

Try These Article Sources First

GALILEO 

  • GALILEO is your gateway to credible and authoritative resources -- a universe of full‑text articles, ebooks, journals, educational videos and more.

Research Guides

  • Use the "Articles" or "Find Articles" tabs in other Guides relevant to your research topic.

Google Scholar

  • Find published articles on the web through Google Scholar. Please adjust Google Scholar Settings to include Library Links for Middle Georgia State and Georgia Library Services Board of Regents.
  • In addition to articles in your original results list, take a look at "Related Articles" and "Cited By" to find other articles on your topic.

Access to Databases

Off-campus access to the article databases requires a valid Middle Georgia State network account.  Your log-in information is the same as your email username and password.

Note: Access to article databases is a privilege available only for currently registered students and currently employed faculty and staff.

Print Periodicals

The Library subscribes to many print magazine, journal and newspaper titles.

The most recent issues can be found on display in the magazine area on the second floor at the Macon campus Library. Recent back issues can be found in the same location behind the current issue (lift the shelf).  Recent issues of some periodicals can also be found at other campus libraries.  The locations should be indicated in the GIL-Find catalog results. Ask for assistance at the library service desk.

Interlibrary Loan

If you come across an article you need for your research, and the Library does not provide full-text access to it in print or electronic format, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

Articles will be electronically delivered to the borrower's e-mail account unless otherwise requested. ILL service is provided free of cost to eligible borrowers. Please review the complete ILL guide for additional information about this service.

Tutorials on searching for articles

Off-Campus Access to GALILEO & Databases

In most cases, you will NOT need the GALILEO password. 

Desire2Learn/Brightspace:

  1. Log in to D2L as usual.
  2. The GALILEO link is displayed on the opening page under "Academic Resources".

You can also access GALILEO from off-campus by selecting the GALILEO link on the main MGA library homepage and logging in with your Middle Georgia State e-mail address and password.

Contact the Library at (478) 471-2709 if you have problems accessing library resources from off-campus.

If you don't know your Middle Georgia State e-mail address and password, please call the Technical Assistance Center at (478) 471-2023 or (478) 934-3319.

For more information click here

 

Google Scholar Search

Find published articles on the web through Google Scholar. Please adjust Google Scholar Settings to include Library Links for Middle Georgia State and Georgia Library Services Board of Regents.

Google Scholar Search