Following are several online or desktop/laptop based citation builders that are geared towards helping students with the main academic citation styles: American Psychological Association (APA), Modern Language Association (MLA), and Chicago Manual of Style. Even though these online citation builders have been developed to provide consistent citations with the rules set out by the citation style guides, users are ultimately responsible for the citations and should be sure to proofread them for accuracy.
Zotero - A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. NOTE: New version works with multiple browsers.
Mendeley- helps you organize your research in one place, can be used online or offline, helps to generate your citations and bibliography, publicly or privately share reading lists, reference, or articles and allows you to connect with others.
Papyrus - a free bibliography system & knowledge manager that you download and install on your home computer and is available for both Windows and Mac.
Biblioscape - designed to help researchers collect and manage bibliographic data, take notes while doing research, and generate citations and bibliographies for publication. ($)
Citation Builder - does citations for books, chapters or essays from books, magazine articles, newspaper articles, journal articles, and web sites. After filling out a form, only the bibliographic citation is provided.
KnightCite - generates bibliographic citations for MLA, APA and the Chicago Manual of Style, and it cites a variety of materials ranging from sacred texts to cartoons.
Paperpile - No-fuss reference management for the web. Manage your research library right in your browser / Save time with a smart, intuitive interface / Access your PDFs from anywhere / Format citations within Google Docs
BibMe - From Chegg: free trial, auto-fill bibliographic generator that will format your bibliography to the main citation styles.
Citation Machine - From Chegg: aid for writing a research papers and assignments. After filling out the appropriate fields based on citation standards and submitting the form, the individual conveniently gets the bibliographic citation and in-text citation.
Easybib - From Chegg is another useful citation tool for a variety of main citation styles. Some extended services available with registration and payment of subscription fee. MLA is free; APA and Chicago/Turabian styles require account registration & subscription.
CiteThisForMe- From Chegg: Our free tools are designed to help you quickly prepare an entire bibliography or reference list in three simple steps: 1. Add references or citations. 2. Choose your citation style. 3. Add the bibliography to your paper. It’s that easy! Whether you’re just starting your paper, or trying to finish it up the night before it’s due, Cite This For Me is here for you, 24/7.
478-471-2709 for the Macon campus library | 478-934-3179 for the Roberts Memorial Library at the Cochran campus | 478-275-6772 for the Dublin campus library
478-374-6833 for the Eastman campus library | 478-929-6804 for the Warner Robins campus library | On the Go? Text-A-Librarian: 478-285-4898
Middle Georgia State University Library
Book an Appointment With a Librarian