chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections: Rules for Using the Archives

Using the Archives

  • Making an appointment with the Library is recommended. Some of your requested items may take longer to locate than others. If you make an appointment, the librarian can have your request filled and waiting for you at your appointment time.

 

  • All users and visitors to the Archives are required to sign in. By signing in, you agree to abide by the rules. For the protection of our materials and collections, you may be denied access if you do not comply with the rules.

 

  • No materials, documents, or collections belonging to the Archives may be removed from the Archives without the express consent of the Reference Librarian, Assistant Director, or Director of the Library.

 

  • The Archives is monitored at all times for security. Visitors and researchers may be accompanied by a staff member.

 

  • While using our materials, you may have only paper, pencil, or a laptop computer with you. No pens are permitted.

 

  • All bags, containers, backpacks, purses, computer cases, coats, etc. must be left by the front desk while you are using the Archives. Neither the Archives nor the library is responsible for the security of your personal property.

 

  • No food or drink, even in a covered container, is allowed in the Archives. No gum or mints or other edible items are allowed. No chewing gum is permitted.

 

  • Please handle all materials as if they were ancient and fragile. Turn pages gently, and lay your pencil down while handling the materials. Please touch photographs only at the corners!

 

  • If you discover materials in need of rehousing or preservation treatment, please tell the Librarian.

Collection Policy

In general, the Archives will collect:

 

  • Policy statements, annual reports, subject reports, statistical summaries, correspondence, photographs, and other papers.

 

  • Official University publications: catalogs, student newspapers and literary magazines, yearbooks, alumni magazines, newsletters, admissions and fund-raising brochures, programs of events.

 

  • Papers of retired faculty.

 

  • Alumni memoirs, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, or other documents relating to the individual’s affiliation with Middle Georgia State University.

 

 

  • Clippings and photographs relating to the campus, university personnel, alumni, and students.

 

 

The Archives generally will not collect:

 

  • Books, articles, or records simply because they were owned by someone associated with the University.
  • Routine financial or enrollment records of the University and its students.

 

The final decision as to whether an item will be accepted into or retained in the Archives will be made by the Library Director. Considerations will include whether the item fits the mission of the Archives and its collection policies, as well physical and financial capacity of the Archives.

Archives Contact

Profile Photo
April Warren
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Is live chat unavailable? Please call 478-471-2709 or e-mail us using this link.
On the Go?
Text-A-Librarian: (478) 285-4898

Contact:
Roberts Memorial Library

Middle Georgia State University
Cochran, Ga 31014
478-934-3071