Research Guides: English 1101- Hamon: Electronic Sources

Academic Search Complete --locates articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines. Full text from 1990.
Browse by subject- This allows you to find specific databases which index articles related to various topics.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive --weekly reports dating from 1920s to the present on events and issues of the day. Full text.
Credo Reference
A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium." The OED gives definitions, etymological analysis, and quotations to demonstrate the use of words in the English language over time.
Research Library at ProQuest --locates articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines. Full text from 1991.

Starting Your Research
Knowing how to get started is often the biggest obstacle to research. The guides and links to FAQs below will help you find a starting point.
What is a database?
How do I choose a database?
The GALILEO system provides access to many databases, both general sources covering a wide range of topics and sources focused on a single subject, academic discipline, or format.
How do I find an article?
Step 1. Choose a database.
Step 2. Search for your topic.
Step 3. Get the article.
How do I find a scholarly or peer-reviewed article?
What is a magazine?
A magazine is a periodical that usually contains an assorted collection of articles, fiction, recipes, and images. Magazines are typically directed at a general reading audience (public). Magazines are often published on a weekly or monthly basis. Some examples of popular magazines are: * Time * Newsweek * People * Sports Illustrated * Wired * Southern Living
What is a Journal?
A journal is a publication that contains articles focused on a specific topic or discipline of study. Articles in journals are usually published by academic publishers or by scholarly or professional societies and organizations.
Citation Guidelines for APA, MLA, & Turabian
Examples of citations using popular style manuals, along with links to websites that can help you in compiling your bibliography or works cited page.

English 1101- Hamon