PBSV 4000 Children in Crises - Professor Susan Durr

Contains games, activities, and resources to help make life more manageable and fun for kids with ADHD. This book contains practical advice from teachers, counselors, and other kids just like themselves for increasing success in school, making and keeping friends, understanding feelings, and dealing with siblings and parents.

For teenagers with ADD, this book provides straightforward advice and information on what to expect in college. Including chapters by psychologists, doctors, ADD specialists and students with ADD, the book provides answers to many commonly asked questions.

For the child who already understands the concept of adoption, this work provides a deeper understanding of how the adoption process works and the feelings that many children have about being adopted. Topics include why children are given up for adoption and why adoptive parents want to adopt.

Zane rushes home to tell his mother about problems he faced during his school day, and she reminds him that while others may only see his "autism stripe," he has stripes for honesty, caring, and much more.

A heartwarming tale describing what it is like to be close to a grandparent who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Through gentle narration and easy-to-understand explanations, this book explains Alzheimer's disease and how it affects children, and families.

Attention, girls! You can have AD/HD too! But AD/HD doesnt have to run your life. This book has tons of practical ways to improve organization, focus, and study and homework skills as well as information on making and keeping friends, dealing with emotions, improving your self-esteem, overcoming sleep problems, understanding medication, and managing anxiety so that you can take charge of your AD/HD get back to being a girl!

In short statements and vignettes, Cory describes what it's like to have ADHD: how it affects his relationships with friends and family, his school performance, and his overall functioning. He also describes many ways of coping with ADHD: medication, therapy/counseling, and practical tips for school, home, and friendships.

Lacey's luxurious life as an only child changes the day Mom and Dad bring home a new baby. Although Lacey goes through all the confusion and upset that any child feels when presented with a new sister or brother, she eventually comes to like having Elana around.

With lively rhymes and funny illustrations, this book will have kids laughing out loud while they learn to accept the things they don't like about their bodies.

For a lot of kids, dealing with a learning disability can be like climbing a mountain. It can be difficult and overwhelming. But with the right tools, support, and guides, kids can successfully reach the top of their mountain. This new edition of the classic book Many Ways to Learn gives kids with learning disabilities reassurance and knowledge to live confidently with their disability. This book provides easy-to-use tips, information, and strategies for kids to take on their disability, as well as empowering them to feel better and more capable. Updated and expanded throughout, Many Ways to Learn, Second Edition also includes information on how to involve counselors and parents as a supportive climbing team as well setting goals and specific tips for kids with each kind of learning disability.

This book helps children who are being teased by offering helpful ideas for dealing with teasing, and to help them realise their own strengths.

Sally loves to be first at everything! She is first in line at school. She is first out the door at recess. She is first at dinner finishing her mac 'n' cheese! Unfortunately, Sally dislikes losing and this can lead to hot tempers and hurt feelings. She e

Since Samantha Jane's dad died, she has been sad and quiet, keeping to herself. One day, her neighbor Mrs Cooper gently asks her about her missing smile, and Sammy Jane begins to open up about her grief, her worries, and her confusion. Sammy Jane's mother joins her daughter, and helps her further with accepting and responding to her profound loss.

This educational text introduces the subject of sex and childbirth to young children.

Barbara Schnurbush helps children understand how Alzheimer's disease will ultimately change older people they are close to, such as their grandparents, and provides hints for parents to provide ways that they can help their children handle their feelings and worries.

Sherman Smith saw the most terrible thing happen. At first he tried to forget about it, but something inside him started to bother him. He felt nervous and had bad dreams. Then he met someone who helped him talk about the terrible thing, and made him feel better.

This text presents a story about coping with a physical disability. Tibby is a bird with a crooked wing who will never fly. Tibby travels around the forest, where he meets animals who teach him how to climb, hop and manoeuvre in other ways. Can Tibby use his new abilities to save a baby robin?

While Fuzzy the Little Sheep is out playing with his friends, he falls and skins his knee. When he can't find his mother to comfort him, he feels scared and alone. When he does find her, he is afraid to let her out of his sight. So Fuzzy's mother comes up with several ideas to help him cope with being away from her.

This story for adopted and foster children describes the adventures of Zachary the kitten, who is taken from his mother's house when she is unable to take care of him. It follows Zachary as he goes into foster care, his adoption by a family of geese and his feelings of shame, anger and hurt.