chat loading...

Skip to Main Content

English 2132- Miller

This guide is designed to help you work through all phases of your research assignments for ENGL 2132 from finding information sources to preparing your reference list.

Guide to Searching Literature Databases:

Searching online databases for literature articles can be confusing. Our Guide can help.

Guide to Searching Literature Databases

Find Book Reviews

NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is an online readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books and audiobooks based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. NoveList Plus provides enhanced subject access to thousands of fiction and nonfiction titles along with book reviews or annotations.
The New York Times Sunday Book Review

Try These Article Sources First

Literature Resource Center
Literary reference and criticism resources of biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. Full text.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Indexes articles on literature and language scholarship. Some full text available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive holds the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, some dating as far back as the 1600s.
Project Muse
Full-text scholarly journal articles in the Humanities.
ProQuest One Literature (formerly Literature Online Premium)
ProQuest One Literature is the destination for all aspects of literature research, teaching and learning—providing the best tools and content available in the market to support today’s study of literature. Formerly Literature Online Premium (LION).

Other Great Sources for Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Locates articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines. Full text from 1990.
Gale Literary Index
A starting point to locate authors and titles covered in the major literature products published by Gale. Notes volumes held by MGA.
Humanities Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
Literary Reference Center Plus
A full-text database that combines information from reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Research Library at ProQuest
locates articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines. Full text from 1991.
Salem Literature
Reference articles and literary criticism on authors and their works from Salem Press.

What if I Can't Find the Full Article?

Find a Journal

TRY THIS FIRST -- Search by journal or magazine title. If we have it in one of our databases, follow the links to the specific issue and article you need.
InterLibrary Loan

TRY THIS NEXT -- Request the article to be sent to you from another library.

Contact a Campus:

478-471-2709 for the Macon campus library | 478-934-3179 for the Roberts Memorial Library at the Cochran campus | 478-275-6772 for the Dublin campus library

478-374-6833 for the Eastman campus library | 478-929-6804 for the Warner Robins campus library | On the Go? Text-A-Librarian: 478-285-4898

Middle Georgia State University Library

Book an Appointment With a Librarian