Research Guides: Teacher Education and Social Work: Home

Welcome to the Teacher Education & Social Work Research Guide

Utilize this guide to search databases listed below for articles and other information for your topic and course assignments. If you have questions please use the chat box.

Suggested Databases

Use the arrows below to scroll the databases.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)

Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice. Some full text.

Education Database (ProQuest)

ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.

Social Science Database

This database has over full text access for over 340 journal titles in the Social Sciences. Coverage begins in 1991.

Education Full Text (formerly H.W. Wilson)

Education Full Text provides access to periodicals and books appropriate for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based education, and information technology.

ERIC (at ed.gov)

Provides access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.

Social Sciences Full-Text

Full text coverage begins in 1995.

General Databases

ERIC (at EBSCOhost)
Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice. Some full text.
Education Full-Text
Full text from journals, monographs and yearbooks covering a wide range of education topics.
Education Database (ProQuest)
Access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
Social Sciences: articles, full text and citations
PsycINFO (at EBSCOhost)
Index and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology from 1887 to the present. Minimal full text.
APA Journal Coverage List: http://www.apa.org/psycinfo/covlist.html
Social Sciences Full Text
(1983 to present) -- Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Child Development & Adolescent Studies™ provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource.
Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma, and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995. Some Full Text

Websites

Find Books

Online Catalog (GIL-Find)
Check the online catalog for books and more at Middle Georgia State.
Reserves
Check in GIL-Find for items (print or electronic) that your professor has put on reserve.
Ask for books and other print materials at the desk in the Library.
Log in to online reserves with the password your professor provides you.
GIL Find Universal Catalog (GIL Express)
Search for books at any USG library.
Interlibrary Loan
Always try GIL Express (the GIL Universal catalog in the above link) first. It's quicker and you get to keep books longer. If your book isn't available at other USG libraries, try Interlibrary Loan.

Georgia Standards Resources

Georgia Standards
GeorgiaStandards.Org (GSO) is a free, public website providing information and resources necessary to help meet the educational needs of students.
English Language Arts Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE) K-5
Mathematics Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE) K-5
Science Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE)
Social Studies Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE) K-5
Visual Art - Fine Arts Georgia Standards of Excellence (GSE)

Search GALILEO

GALILEO is a portal where you can search for a wide range of types of sources...all from one single database. Unlike most of the databases listed in the suggested databases section above, which is more targeted to your subject, GALILEO Discover is broad and covers most every subject you can imagine. As mentioned, it's good to try different options, including this one; however, you may find your research easier and more manageable by focusing on the databases in the "suggested databases" and "additional databases" sections of this guide.

Teacher Education and Social Work