Research Guides: History (General): Historic Newspapers

Historic Newspapers

New York Times Online
Available for current MGA faculty, staff, and students after one-time registration.The New York Times provides access to all of its archived content from 1851 to present day. You receive unlimited access from 1851-1922; 5 articles per day per user from 1923-1980 due to copyright laws; and unlimited access from 1981 to present day.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
ever-growing online archive of America's historic newspapers, sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic newspaper titles from around the state. Compatible with Internet browsers; plugin not needed for viewing.
Macon Telegraph Archive
Browse by city, region, or title for online access to issues from 1826-1908 (not comprehensive)
American Civil War Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Library of Congress index of American newspapers in print during the Civil War era.
North Georgia Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Browse by region, city, or title for online access to six newspaper titles published in three north Georgia cities (Dalton, Gainesville, and Rome) from 1850 to 1922.
South Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive
Browse by region, city, or title for online access to newspaper titles published in south Georgia cities from 1845 to 1922
The Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Browse by city, region, or title for online access to newspaper titles published in Atlanta from 1847 to 1922. Access through the Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive.
Savannah Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Browse by city, region or title for online access to historic newspaper titles published in Savannah, Georgia, from 1809 to 1880.
Columbus Enquirer Archive This link opens in a new window
Browse by city, title, or region for online access to the Columbus Enquirer 1828-1890, through the Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive.
Milledgeville Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
NOTE: now a part of the Georgia Historic Newspapers; browse by city for online access to eleven newspaper titles published in Milledgeville from 1808 to 1920.
Athens Historic Newspapers Archive This link opens in a new window
Browse by region, city, or title for online access to five newspaper titles published in Athens from 1827 to 1922.
The Southern Israelite Archive This link opens in a new window
Browse by title for online access to 1929-1986 news of the southern Jewry, and also the issues that involved Jewish populations throughout the world, including the Holocaust and the creation of the Jewish state of Israel.
Macon Telegraph This link opens in a new window
Search more than 25 years of Macon and Georgia history with the Macon Telegraph Collection. Coverage from 1994 through today with full-color newspaper pages and full-text articles, as well as content only published online.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Browse by region, city, or title to access digitized historic newspapers throughout the state of Georgia.

Race Relations, Macon, Georgia

Special Collection: Race Relations, Macon, GA, c.1900-2002.

Printouts of Macon newspaper articles dealing with race relations from around 1900-2002. Organized by decades, plus one folder on Baconsfield Park. Articles were part of the research materials used by Andrew Manis in writing Macon: Black and White. Located in Archives, Macon campus.

Historical Newspapers Online

Historical Newspapers Online
A guide from Bowling Green State University Libraries to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.

History (General)

Historic Newspapers

Race Relations, Macon, Georgia

Historical Newspapers Online

Contact a Campus: