Research Guides: HUMN 1002: Books

In the Library:

Browse the "PN1900" section in your campus library.
Also see below for a list of related books from our collection.

Online Catalog (GIL-Find)
Check the online catalog for books and more at Middle Georgia State.
GIL-Find for GIL Express (Universal Catalog)
Select "University System of Georgia" as a search option to locate books at other USG college libraries. After you find a book, order it by clicking "Request." (Make sure you are logged in to GIL-Find!)
Reserves
Check in GIL-Find for items (print or electronic) that your professor has put on reserve.
Ask for books and other print materials at the desk in the Library.
Log in to online reserves with the password your professor provides you.

Physical Reference Books

THE ANNALS OF AMERICA
Call Number: REF E173 .A793
American Decades: Primary Documents by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Call Number: E169.1 .A471977 2004
ISBN: 0787665878
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
U. S. A. : a chronicle in pictures by Neil Wenborn
Call Number: E174.5 .W46 1991
ISBN: 0831713992
Publication Date: 1991-07-01
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture by M. Thomas Inge (Editor); Dennis Hall (Editor)
Call Number: REF E169.1 .G7555 2002
ISBN: 0313308780
Publication Date: 2002-11-30
Encyclopedia of American Social History by Mary K. Cayton (Editor); Elliott J. Gorn (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: REF HN57 .E58 1993
ISBN: 0684192462
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
The Sixties by Arthur Marwick
Call Number: CB425 .M424 1999
ISBN: 0192881000
Publication Date: 2000-02-03
Complete Film Dictionary by Ira Konigsberg
Call Number: REF PN1993.45 .K66 1998
ISBN: 0140513930
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Women Film Directors by Gwendolyn Audrey Foster
Call Number: REF PN1998.2 .F67 1995
ISBN: 0313289727
Publication Date: 1995-11-30
The New York times film reviews
Call Number: REF PN1995 .N4
Dictionary of Film Terms by Frank Beaver
Call Number: REF TR847 .B43 1983
ISBN: 0070042128
Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Film Plots by Leonard J. Leff
Call Number: REF PN1997.8 .L42 1983
ISBN: 0876501498
Publication Date: 1983-05-01
The International encyclopedia of film
Call Number: REF PN1993.45 .I5 1972
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film by Russell Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: REF PR3093 .C36 2007
ISBN: 9780521866002
Publication Date: 2007-03-29
The Film Noir Encyclopedia by Alain Silver; Elizabeth Ward; James Ursini; Robert Porfirio
Call Number: REF PN1995.9.F54 F555 2010
ISBN: 9781590201442
Publication Date: 2010-05-13
Cinema by Richard Roud
Call Number: REF PN1993.45 .C5
ISBN: 0670222577
Publication Date: 1980-05-01
A Biographical Dictionary of Film by David Thomson
Call Number: REF PN1998.A2 T55 1976
ISBN: 0688029744
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Film Criticism by Richard Heinzkill
Call Number: PN1995 .H4 1975
ISBN: 0810808404
Publication Date: 1975-08-01

Film-related Reference books-online

The Ridley Scott encyclopedia (ebook via Galileo)
The entries in this encyclopedia focus on all aspects of his work and are divided into four categories. The first focuses on Ridley Scott's work as a director, encompassing his feature films from The Duellists to Body of Lies, as well as his work in television, including commercials. The second category focuses on the people who have been involved in Scott's projects, including actors, directors, producers, designers, writers and other creative personnel. The third focuses on general thematic issues raised in Scott's work, such as gender construction, political issues, and geographical locations. Finally the encyclopedia incorporates entries on films by other directors who have influenced Scott's approach to his work as a director or producer. Each entry is followed by a bibliography of published sources, both in print and online, making this the most comprehensive reference on Scott's body of work.
more...less...
If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.

This is just a TINY sampling of Ebooks that you have access to as a Middle Georgia State Unverisity student. Feel free to search on your own and never be afraid to ask a Librarian for some help!

Here's a link to a GIL-Find search that returns over 400 ebooks for "Film," "Motion Picture," and "History & Criticism":
Feel free to modify this search or do your own.

Television and Film by Frank W. Hoffmann; Michael R. Pitts
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780585454733
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Class, Language, and American Film Comedy by Christopher Beach
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780521807494
Publication Date: 2002-02-11
This book examines the evolution of American film comedy through the lens of language and the portrayal of social class. Christopher Beach argues that class has been an important element in the development of sound comedy as a cinematic form. With the advent of sound in the late 1920s and early 1930s, filmmakers recognized that sound and narrative enlarged the semiotic and ideological potential of film. Analyzing the use of language in the films of the Marx Brothers, Frank Capra, Woody Allen and the Coen brothers, among others, Class, Language, and American Film Comedy traces the history of Hollywood from the 1930s to the present, while offering a new approach to the study of class and social relationships through linguistic analysis.
Noir, Now and Then by Ronald Schwartz
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0313000514
Publication Date: 2001
This examination of the cinematic style of film noir originals and their neo-noir remakes compares thirty-five films, beginning with Billy Wilder's classic Double Indemnity and concluding with Jim McBride's BreathlesS≪/i>. In-depth analysis of the films explain the qualities and characteristics of film noir, while providing critical readings of both the originals and the remakes. The most significant films since 1944 are reviewed and reveal the ever-changing values in American society. As this study reveals, the noir style significantly impacted American film and neo-noir remakes attest to its continued popularity in cinematic art.

General Reference Books - Online

REMEMBER:

If you access any of these online resources off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.

Encyclopedia Britannica / Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary Online -- Don't forget about the "Timeline" feature, which is listed under "Research Tools" on the homepage. NOTE: Select encyclopedia or dictionary to search.

Credo Reference -- search our online collection of 592 full-text reference books. See specific books within Credo Reference listed below:

Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia
An international and inter-disciplinary roster of experts shed light by exploring such topics as hip hop culture; punk culture; social justice movements; video games and others.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
Culture Wars in America : an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your MGA credentials. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
Encyclopedia of America Studies
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your MGA credentials. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law
Top scholars present an unbiased work that takes on the explosive issue of guns and gun violence in the United States.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
The 2011 Annual register : World events of 2010.
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
The 2012 Annual register : World events of 2011
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
The 2013 Annual Register: World Events 2012
Long considered as essential reading by journalists, politicians, historians and anyone with an interest in current affairs, The Annual Register is a primary source text for historical research and (for the recent and current annuals) a current affairs reference work.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.
The Reader's companion to American history
The Reader's Companion to American History offers a fresh, absorbing portrait of the United States from the origins of its native peoples to the nation's complex identity in the 1990s. Covering political, economic, cultural, and social history, and combining hundreds of short descriptive entries with longer evaluative articles, the encyclopedia is informative, engaging, and a pleasure to read.
more...less...
If you access this book off-campus, you will be prompted for your Galileo credentials.
1. If you are prompted for a username and password, use "firstname.lastname" and your mga.edu email password.
2. If you are only prompted for a password, simply use this semester's Galileo password, which can be found in Desire2Learn.

HUMN 1002

Librarian

Outline of US History from the Dept. of State

In the Library:

Physical Reference Books

Film-related Reference books-online

General Reference Books - Online

Contact a Campus: