Research Guides: Library Tutorials: How to use GALILEO

What is GALILEO?

GALILEO stands for:

GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories. Participating institutions may access over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 10,000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications.

--http://about.galileo.usg.edu/

GALILEO Libguides has taken all resources available through GALILEO, and sorted them into easy to navigate guides which are then separated into thirteen subject guides.

Use this portal to quickly find resources for your research.

GALILEO FAQ page

GALILEO FAQ Page
Comprehensive list of Galileo-related questions. Also features a search box for finding answers to specific questions.
How do I choose a database in Galileo?
The GALILEO system provides access to many databases, both general sources covering a wide range of topics and sources focused on a single subject, academic discipline, or format.
What can I do in Galileo?
In GALILEO, the sky is the limit! Whether you are a graduate student or a preschooler, a life-long learner, or a k-12 teacher, GALILEO has something for you.

GALILEO Tips and Tutorials

How do I choose a database?
The GALILEO system provides access to many databases, both general sources covering a wide range of topics and sources focused on a single subject, academic discipline, or format.
How do I find an article?
Step 1. Choose a database.
Step 2. Search for your topic.
Step 3. Get the article.
How do I find a scholarly or peer-reviewed article?
Starting Your Research
Knowing how to get started is often the biggest obstacle to research. The guides and links to FAQs below will help you find a starting point.
What is a database?
What is a Journal?
A journal is a publication that contains articles focused on a specific topic or discipline of study. Articles in journals are usually published by academic publishers or by scholarly or professional societies and organizations.
What is a magazine?
A magazine is a periodical that usually contains an assorted collection of articles, fiction, recipes, and images. Magazines are typically directed at a general reading audience (public). Magazines are often published on a weekly or monthly basis. Some examples of popular magazines are: * Time * Newsweek * People * Sports Illustrated * Wired * Southern Living

E-Books

How do I view ebooks on my mobile device? All GALILEO users have access to ebooks through ProQuest’s Ebook Central and EBSCO eBooks. In addition to viewing online, users may also download ebooks onto their mobile device for offline viewing. You can download both Ebook Central and EBSCO eBook titles using the Bluefire Reader app. We have created guides that walk you through how to do this. EBSCO eBooks Guide for Users with an Apple (iOS) device / Guide for Users with an Android device ProQuest Ebook Central / Guide for Users with Apple or Android devices
How do I view EBSCO eBooks on my computer? EBSCO eBooks databases can be viewed online or downloaded onto PCs, Macs, Chromebooks, iPhone/iPad, Android, and other devices. To use features in an EBSCOhost database (including eBooks at EBSCOhost), the minimum browser requirements are Internet Explorer 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0 (for Mac). You also must have Adobe Reader installed to view the PDF full-text files. EBSCO recommends Adobe Acrobat Reader version 8.2 or later. Download Adobe Reader at the Adobe site. For iPad and iPhone users, the Blue Fire reader app is recommended. EBSCO offers this useful guide with detailed information about how to use EBSCO eBooks. The guide includes video tutorials on searching, reading, and downloading EBSCO eBooks. For more information on using ebooks on your mobile device, visit the FAQ “How do I view ebooks on my mobile device?”

Library Tutorials

What is GALILEO?

GALILEO FAQ page

GALILEO Tips and Tutorials

E-Books

GALILEO Toolbox

Contact a Campus: