chat loading...
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics: Economic Data

Economic Data - World

World Bank Data

Formerly the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Hundreds of economic and social indicators, with 40 years of data for some series, for every country in the world.

AidData

Data on foreign aid.

Asian Development Bank

Economic, financial and social indicators for countries in Asia.

Bank for International Settlements

Data on international banking, securities, derivatives, foreign exchange, debt, payment and settlement systems, and property prices.

Global Development Finance

External debt information for developing countries from the World Bank. Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2009, for most reporting countries.

Government Finance Statistics

1972-current.

Inter-American Development Bank

Economic, social, and political data for Latin America and the Caribbean.

International Labor Organization

A United Nations organization that tracks various labor-related statistics. Individual databases produced by the ILO include LABORSTA (most data 1969-present, some 1945-present) and Key Indicators of the Labor Market (1980-present).

National Accounts Statistics

1970-present. Produced by the Economic Statistics Branch of the United Nations Statistics Division.

OECD.Stat

Data from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Economic, social, demographic, and other data is included. This online database supports browsing, querying, pivoting, and dynamic charting as well as downloading data.

Penn World Tables

Standardized, internationally comparable data on GDP, purchasing power parity and more for 188 countries, 1950-2004.

SourceOECD

Statistical databases and PDF versions of published statistical sources from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Topics include finance, trade, transportation, agriculture, health, education, science, and more. OECD Data can also be accessed through the OECD.Stat database above.

United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Statistics on the environment, economy, social indicators, etc.

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Statistics and data on a wide range of topics, including the economy, demographics, health, crime, education, science and technology, and transportation, for countries in Europe, North America, and Central Asia.

United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

Social, economic, environmental, demographic, and technology-related statistics.

Doing Business - Measuring Business Regulations

Provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational level.  A project of The World Bank and IFC's Global Indicators and Analysis unit.

Economic Data - US

American Factfinder

Statistics and aggregate data from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys.

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Provides data on national accounts, international accounts, regional accounts, and industry accounts. Excellent source for local (state, county, MSA) economic data.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Statistics and aggregate data on inflation, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, consumer spending, time use, productivity, and workplace injuries. Individual-level and household-level microdata from the Bureau of Labor Statistics is available through ICPSR.

Economic Report of the President

An annual report to Congress written by the chair of the Council of Economic Advisors. Reports are available here from 1995-present.

EITC Interactive

Data on the Earned Income Tax Credit, as well as general income and tax information, from the Brookings Institution. Contains much of the same data as the Tax Statistics site from the IRS, but with a more user-friendly interface that allows online searching and manipulation of the data.

FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)

This is the best place to find historical data that is too old to be included in FRED.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)

Nearly 20,000 time-series data sets on 14 subjects, all related to the U.S. economy.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Data sets created or used by NBER researchers.

Tax Statistics

Data on corporate and personal taxes and income from the IRS.

Treasury Department Reports

Current and historical information on public debt, federal investments and trust funds, state and local government series securities, interest rates, and federal borrowing.

U.S. Census Bureau Economic Programs

Data on the number, size, sales, inventories, etc. of businesses in the United States. Data is available broken down at a number of geographic  

Reference Books

Librarian

Profile Photo
Ann Marie Fabian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Is live chat unavailable? Please call 478-471-2709 or e-mail us using this link.
On the Go?
Text-A-Librarian: (478) 285-4898